Korea TESOL

Annual Business Meeting (ABM) Minutes

19:00 KST November 1, 2022 Zoom

Attendees List

Bryan Hale, Daniel Jones, Allison Bill, David Shaffer, Heidi Vande Voort Nam, James (Jake) Kimball, James Rush II, Kirsten Razzaq, Lindsay Herron, Lisa MacIntyre-Park, Lucinda Estrada, Reece Randall, Robert Dickey, Stafford Lumsden, John Phillips (from 7:05), Michael Free (from 7:33) All are members and able to vote.

14 PRESENT at Call to Order

Meeting Called to Order (Time: 7: 03)

President Bryan Hale welcomes all present, reads through the agenda, and checks that all can use zoom reactions for voting. (Some trouble was encountered due to zoom updates.)

Note: % votes must be in favour to pass bylaws amendments - voting by majority on other matters.

All who are current KOTESOL members are permitted to vote.

Motion 1: That the agenda be adopted.

Adopted by consensus. (time: 7:08)

Motion 2: That the minutes from the 2021 ABM as presented by the secretary be approved and published on the KOTESOL website, allowing for minor corrections of punctuation, spelling, and grammar.

(Time: 7:11) Stafford asked for the motion to be read out again in full.

Motion: Dave Shaffer Second: Lindsay Herron

Approved unanimously; Minutes from the 2021 ABM are adopted.

Rob questioned the membership of an officer and found a hiccup in the system to be resolved.

Reports of the Officers & Committees

A. Financial Report (Time: 7:14)

The bookkeeper and those assisting with treasury work have prepared details to report on the current bank balances this year. Bryan reads out the Treasury Report. CDS (chapter dues shares) are being caught up.

B. Nominations & Elections Committee Report (Time: 7:18)

We received 97 ballots. Voting Period: 22 days.

It was announced 3 times that there was an election taking place.

Results:

President: Lindsay Herron - 94 votes, 2 write-ins

First Vice President: Lucinda Estrada - 91 votes, 3 write-ins Second Vice President: Reece Randall - 90 votes, 5 write-ins Secretary: Heidi Vande Voort Nam - 96 votes

Nominations and Elections chair: James (Jake) Kimball - 93 votes

Treasurer: No Nominee; 10 write-ins for 4 different people - threshold not met to attain position; declared

vacant

ICC co-chair: No Nominee; 10 write-ins, position declared vacant

It's up to National Council to decide on how the vacant positions should be filled.

A question came in about membership to judge voting percentage - we're at about 350 now.

Motion 3: That the Nominations and Elections Committee report be approved.

Motion: Dave Shaffer Second: Lindsay Herron

The report passes unanimously.

Dave congratulates election winners; all applaud.

Bryan thanks those who ran and thanks the N&E committee for all their hard work.

C. President's Report (Time: 7:25)

Bryan delivers the President's Report about KOTESOL happenings since the previous ABM:

-National Conference: Reel to Real: Filmmaking Festival & National Conference

online, free, 293 attendees registered, 46 sessions; financed by Busan Chapter

Bryan thanks the Busan Chapter, organisers, and conference committee.

-International Conference: More than Words: Teaching for a Better World

online, 304 participants (35 countries represented), 145 sessions; made a profit

Bryan thanks the conference chair and organisers.

-International Outreach activities:

JALT'21, ETA-ROC'21, ThaiTESOL, MELTA

Upcoming: ETA-ROC, JALT, KOTESOL IC 2023 will be a joint Pan-Asian Consortium (PAC) Conference Representatives and virtual reps attended International Events.

Michael Free arrives (7:33pm) (17 members present now)

Bryan thanks James as outreach chair and the representatives who have taken part in the conferences. Rob asks if reps have been named for forthcoming conferences. James fields the question and says they haven't been named. Bryan replies that the incoming chair and council are ready to get on it.

-Membership Committee activities:

Relationships with English Scholars Beyond Borders, Breaking Bias Summit, Education Perfect KOTESOL Voices - monthly contributions

New membership perks are always coming up; thanks to Lindsay for her work as membership chair.

Membership numbers seem to be climbing again. Factors relating to change in numbers were outlined.

-Sponsorship Committee activities:

Rob has had extensive communication with past, current, and potential future sponsors.

Thanks to Rob's work, valuable relationships have been reactivated.

-Publications Committee activities:

Publications have continued throughout the pandemic at pre-pandemic pace.

The English Connection (TEC) - 4 issues, 2022 KOTESOL Proceedings, Korea TESOL Journal - 2 issues

-Chapter & Special Interest Groups (SIG)

Events took place both virtually and most recently in person.

Over 40 Chapter events have taken place since the last ABM.

Happy to get back to in-person events while seeing that online events also have their place.

-Upcoming: IC 2023 (hybrid conference)

April 29-30 in Seoul and online; call for proposals open through January 1.

Theme: Advancing Collaboration: Exchanges Among Scholars, Instructors, & Students

Unfinished Business (Time: 7:40)

There is no identified unfinished business from the previous ABM.

New Business

Motion 4: That KOTESOL national elections should have two or more nominees for each elective office.

Explanation of how we use Robert's Rules given - that we discuss the topic before making the motion. Rob explains why he's making the motion.

Discussion ensued.

Motion: Robert Dickey Second: James Rush II

3 vote in favour 13 against

The motion fails. (Time: 8:06)

Awards

Recognitions for Service:

Daniel Bailey, Allison Bill, Anika Casem, Tyler Clark, Robert J. Dickey, Garth Elzerman, Lucinda Estrada, Wayne Finley, Stewart Gray, Virginia Hanslien, Lindsay Herron, Daniel Earl Jones, James Kimball, Danielle Kinnison, Dr. Mikyoung Lee, Dr. Kara MacDonald, Lisa MacIntyre-Park, Rhea Metituk, Heidi Nam, Conor O'Reilly, Mike Peacock, John Phillips, Dr. Bilal Qureshi, Brian Raisbeck, Reece Randall, Kirsten Razzaq, Victor Reeser, Kimberley Roberts, James G. Rush II, Phillip Schrank, Dr. David E. Shaffer, Kara Waggoner, Julian Warmington, Dr. Andrew White, Jocelyn Wright

Meritorious Service Award

Lucinda Estrada Lisa MacIntyre-Park John Phillips Kirsten Razzaq

Outstanding Service Award

Dr. Kara MacDonald Dr. Andrew White

President's Award

Robert J. Dickey Lindsay Herron Dr. David E. Shaffer

Announcements & Adjournment

A brief meeting of the new National Council will be held right after the ABM. All give Bryan a round of applause with thanks for his work as the president.

Without any objections, the meeting is adjourned at 8:16 by consensus.