## **KOTESOL National Council Minutes**

Meeting held at Woosong Language Institute, Room 605, on the 25th of August, 2012

## Present:

President MiJae Lee

Past President Robert Capriles

Treasurer Deborah Tarbet

Secretary Leonie Overbeek

Nominations and Elections Committee Chair David D.I. Kim

International Conference Chair Phil Owen

International Conference Co-Chair Carl Dusthimer

Deagu Chapter President Paedar Callaghan

Daejeon - Chungchong President Kathy Moon

Gwangju - Jeongam Chapter President David Shaffer

Jeonju-North - Jeolla Chapter President Ingrid Zwaal

Suwon-Gyeonggi Chapter President Matthew Millar

Seoul Chapter President Stafford Lumsden

Yongin Chapter President representative Robert Kim

Community Relations Committee Chair Young Joo Jeon

Domestic Relations Committee representative Han Gyo Ul

Financial Affairs Committee representative Park Ok Hee

Longterm Planning Committee Chair Jay Kim Jeong-ryeol

Membership Committee Chair William Mulligan

Publications Committee representative Alex Sung Uk Park

Technologies Committee John Phillips

Website Committee B.T. Stoakley

Present as observers: Bruce Wakefield, Nathan Rice, Allison Bill

21 members were present constituting a quorum, and the meeting was started at 11:45 a.m.

The agenda for the meeting was:

- 1. Procedural matters
- 2. Old business (including all items left from previous meetings)
- 2.1 Elections Special Report
- 2.2 Tabled motion regarding co-chairs of I.C.
- 2.3 O.P. Report
- 2.4 Constitutional Amendment
- 2.5 Code of Conduct for National Council
- 3. New business
- 3.1 ABM agenda
- 3.2 TESOL International Controversy
- 3.3 Elections committee report

4. Reports from committees and chapters 1. Peadar Callaghan moves that the agenda be accepted, Bob Caprilles second. Vote is called 17 Yes 0 No 1 Abstain Motion is carried 2.1 Elections Special Report 2.1.1 Stafford Lumsden moves that since the president was concerned in the report, she vacate the chair for this section of the meeting. Phil Owen second. Vote is called 7 Yes 1 No 8 Abstain 2.1.2 Under Roberts Rules the absence of both the 1st and 2nd Vice Presidents meant the Secretary would chair the meeting, but Leonie Overbeek declined. After a nomination process fails due to the persons nominated also declining, Stafford Lumsden moves that Roberts Rules of Order be suspended and that Nathan Rice, an observer and member in good standing of KOTESOL be appointed the chair pro tem for this section of the meeting. Phil Owen second. Call to vote 11 Yes 3 No 3 Abstain Motion is carried. Nathan Rice assumes the chair. 2.1.3 Stafford Lumsden moves that the meeting go into executive session. Phil Owen second. Call to vote

17 Yes 1 No 1 Abstain The meeting entered executive session at 12:57 p.m. Minutes for that section are recorded separately, and as a document with no public disclosure.

The executive session ended at 1:32 p.m.

Break for lunch.

Resume at 2:00 p.m.

2.1.4 Stafford Lumsden moves that the National Council directs the president to make a statement regarding the fact that she did no wrong in the elections to the membership. Phil Owen second.

The chair makes a reccomendation to Stafford Lumsden that the motion be amended, and he accepts.

- 2.1.4.1 Amended motion reads: That the National Council requests the president to publish a statement to the general membership that she did nothing wrong and to state her goals and vision for the rest of her term.
- 2.1.4.2 Paedar Callaghan moves that the discussion be ended and the motion be voted on. William Mulligan second.

16 Yes

0 No

4 Abstain

Motion is carried.

Vote on amended motion

6 Yes

12 no

2 Abstain

Motion is denied

2.1.5 Leonie Overbeek moves that a message be sent to the membership by the Council reading: The Council resolves that the Special Report on Elections has been discussed, and that the report is available at (link to be supplied by webmaster) and the matter has been resolved to the satisfaction of the National Council.

19 Yes

1 No

0 Abstain

President MiJae Lee resumes the chair.

- 2.2 Paedar Callaghan calls for the tabled motion to be considered and voted on. The motion reads: That Grace Wang and Carl Dusthimer both be recognised as co-chairs for the Interntional Conference and that the February meeting decision of the council be rescinded. Since this motion was duly moved and seconded it needs no further call or second.
- 2.2.1 Peadar Callaghan moves that the discussion be ended. Bob Caprilles second.

- 15 Yes
- 1 no
- 2 Abstain

Motion passes

Tabled motion voted on.

- 7 Yes
- 9 No
- 1 Abstain

Motion is defeated

- 2.3 OP report finalised
- 2.4 Constitutional Amendment

Since any such amendments have to be presented at least 30 days before the ABM to the general membership, the secretary calls for all such amendments to reach her by the 10th of September, 2012.

- 2.5 Code of conduct is tabled.
- 3. Old business
- 3.1 ABM agenda is tabled.
- 3.2 TESOL controversy awareness about the ETS TESOL alliance and testing procedures.
- 3.3 Nominations & Elections Committee Report

All council members are reminded that there are vacancies that will arise with end of term of several offices and that they should submit their forms before the 12th of September.

3.4 David Shaffer moves that the invited speakers budget of the International Conference for 2013 be approved now for the same amount as allocated for 2012. Stafford Lumsden second.

Call to vote

16 Yes

1 No

4 Abstain

Since the time is 4:30 p.m. David D.I. Kim moves to adjourn, Leonie Overbeek second.

Meeting is adjourned.