Minutes of the KOTESOL Annual Business Meeting October 10, 2004

Location: Gemma Hall, Sookmyung Women's University President Myung-Jai Kang presiding at the late afternoon meeting.

Attendance was not taken due to many people entering and leaving the room. Also, please note that due to the absence of a secretary at the beginning of the meeting, some details regarding the early parts of the meeting (exact time of meeting being called to order, etc.) are not recorded here.

The meeting began with the reading of the agenda. Todd Vercoe noted that New Business was not included and called for its insertion.

After the President's opening remarks, the KOTESOL Service Awards were presented to the following members:

Dr. Peter Nelson	Dr. Dongil Shin	James Trotta
Dr. Steve Garrigues	Dr. Yangdon Ju	Jack Large
Kevin Landry	Luis Riestra	Dr. Marilyn Plumlee
Kevin Parent	Maureen Parker	Todd Vercoe
Dr. Sangdo Woo	Dr. Mi-jae Lee	Patrick Guilfoyle
Demetra Gates Choi	Oo-sheek Suh	Douglas P. Margolis
Wonmyong Kim	Ryan Cassidy	Michael Duffy
Dr. Joo-Kyung Park	Chris Grayson	David McMurray
John Phillips	Tory Thorkelson	
Aaron Jolly	Adam Turner	

Outstanding Service Awards, KOTESOL's second highest service award, were presented to the following members:

Dr. David E. Shaffer	Dr. Kyungsook Yeum	Sharon Morrison
Dr. Robert J. Dickey	Jake Kimball	Maria Lisak
Louisa Kim	Phil Owen	Dr. Paul Robertson

President Kang then presented the prestigious KOTESOL President's Award to David Kim especially for his efforts in organizing this year's international conference.

After acceptance of the President's Award, David Kim acknowledged the Conference Committee members for their efforts in organizing this year's conference by calling them to the stage and with certificates to be distributed later.

It was announced that the election ballots would be opened and counted by the Elections Committee during the ABM. Before this commenced the following motion was made.

Motion #1: KOTESOL to accept proxy votes beginning with the current election. Made by: Todd Vercoe Seconded by: Maria Lisak Discussion followed. <u>Results</u> For: 4 Against: 25 Abstentions: 4, including Todd Vercoe who wished to be named

David Shaffer presented the Treasurer's Report.

Motion #2: The Treasurer's Report to be accepted Made by: Todd Vercoe Seconded by: Brett Rawnsley <u>Results</u> For: 25 Against: 0 Abstentions: 0

Motion #3: Membership Committee chair will look into hiring a professional to develop the membership database, report and give recommendations at the Leadership Retreat in December. Made by: David Shaffer Seconded by: Peter Nelson

Amendment: Membership Committee chair to look into hiring a professional to develop the membership database and report and give recommendations at the Leadership Retreat in December. <u>Then we need to decide the procedure, people and deadline for implementation.</u> Amendment made by: Maria Lisak. (Seconded by Jerry Foley) After some discussion, Maria withdrew her proposed amendment.

More discussion followed.

Results of vote on original motion

For: 18 Against: 0 Abstentions: 0

Motion #4: Nominations and Election Chair to put out a report on online and/or proxy voting a the Leadership Retreat with recommendations.

Made by: Phil Owen Seconded by: Robert Dickey Discussion followed. <u>Results</u> For: 19 Against: 0 Abstentions: 0 Motion #5: All council meeting minutes, once approved by the executive council, and all reports made to the executive council, be posted on the website within 30 days. Made by: Robert Dickey Seconded by: Maria Lisak Discussion followed. <u>Results</u> For: 18 Against: 0 Abstentions: 0

The results of the elections were announced by Dr. Robert Dickey:1st Vice-President:Louisa KimTreasurer:David E. Shaffer2nd Vice-President:David KimSecretary:Brian HeldenbrandNominations & Elections Committee Chair:Jake KimballConference Committee Co-chair:Sean Coutts

Incoming President Kyungsook Yeum gave an address plotting the direction that she envisions KOTESOL to take in the coming year. This was followed by the presenting of the President's Plaque to Outgoing President Myung-Jai Kang, for her efforts in guiding KOTESOL during the past year.

<u>Motion #6: To adjourn the meeting</u> Made by: David Shaffer Motion not seconded or voted on because people were too busy leaving.

Minutes prepared by Kevin Parent, October 15, 2004 With additions by David Shaffer, November 15, 2004