KOTESOL Annual Business Meeting Sunday, October 19th, 2003, 4:30-7 p.m. Seoul Education Training Institute, Seoul

Minutes

1. Opening of the Meeting: President Woo, Sangdo called the Annual Business Meeting to order at 4:30. He thanked the Conference Committee and was happy to announce this was our most successful KOTESOL International Conference ever. He thanked all those who made it possible. He spoke of achievement and it was stated that there were 750 registered attendees. The International Conference was attended by about half members and half non-members. J. Kimball and Dr. Yeum were thanked for their

work making the Young Learners Symposium a success. Dr. Yu was shown appreciation for his tireless efforts and hours of paper work done to secure a grant from the

Korea Research Foundation for the International conference. Webcasting put on by Rob Dickey and Jeff Lebow, with his Koreabridges team, allowed our conference to be seen in China and Japan. Dr. Yu thanked the president and the work of all conference committee members was appreciated.

2. The Treasurer's Report was given by D. Shaffer. He explained that 70% of expected OP fees had been collected and that the rest were expected by the year's end. He went over the amount from membership (see appendix), expenses, and stated the year's opening balance was 74,000,000 won and that the present balance was 93,000,000 won. The International Conference was attended by about half members and half non-members.

3. The Council-Proposed Amendment:

Article VI, Section 4

All Chapter officers must be current KOTESOL members.

After explanation and discussion of proper procedure (see Constitution and Bylaws) the procedures were begun by David Shaffer, clarified by Robert Dickey, and scrutinized by Phil Owen.

4. Proposed Amendments to KOTESOL By-Laws:

David Shaffer moved these be added. J. Nicholas seconded. The discussion centered around the rationale for each and all were voted on separately.

Article IV, Section 2

Any members seeking nomination for an elected position on the Council must have been a member in good standing for at least the 12 full months immediately prior to the time of seeking nomination.

Article IV section 2. was voted upon, the results

being :

26 for 4 opposed 1 abstention

Result: Motion passed.

Article IV, Section 3

Any members seeking nomination for an elected position on the Council must be nominated by a member other than oneself and receive an endorsement by one additional member.

Article IV section 3. was seconded by P. Nelson. Discussion hinged on faith in electorate.

17 for6 opposed9 abstentions

Result: Motion defeated.

Article IV, Section 4 Any member seeking nomination to the office of First Vice-President shall have been a member of the Council for at least one year prior to the time of seeking nomination. Article IV, Section 4. also moved by D. Shaffer was seconded by D. G. Choi. Membership lapse would be overlooked with a grace period until notification of expiry.

30 for 0 opposed 1 abstention Result: Motion passed.

Article IV, Section 5

Any elected or appointed member of the Council may be removed from office through impeachment, which must be based on a failure to properly conduct the affairs of

the appointed/elected office. Impeachment shall require the approval of 75% of elected officers and chapter representatives, regardless of present attendance.

[The presently labeled Sections 2, 3, and 4 of Article IV shall be relabeled to follow the above-approved amendments.]

The motion for Article IV section 5 was amended to include "or by the general membership" at the end. The amendment to the motion was put to a vote.

11 for 11 opposed

Result: Amendment defeated.

Since the amendment was not passed, the original motion was then discussed and put to a vote.

20 for 1 opposed 5 abstentions

Result: Motion passed.

The results of the Elections were announced by Joseph Nicholas. Myung-Jai Kang succeeded to National President but First VP resulted in a multiple-way tie, with each receiving one vote, after the first two selections, P. Nelson and J. Large declined their write-in votes. It was deferred to the Council to decide on the selection of the First Vice President. Paul Mead was re-elected as Second Vice president, Luis Riestra was elected Secretary, David Shaffer was re-elected Treasurer, Jake Kimball became the Elections and Nominations Committee Chair, Sharron Morrison became the new Conference Committee Co-chair and David Kim succeeded to Conference Committee Chair for next year's Conference.

Service Awards and Outstanding Service Awards were given out to outstanding members of the Council and Certificates of Appreciation were presented to Conference Committee members. KOTESOL President's Awards were presented to Yangdon Ju and to David E. Shaffer. Incoming President, Myung-Jai Kang, presented the President's Plaque to outgoing President Sangdo Woo for his outstanding leadership.

D. Shaffer moved to adjourn and Louisa Kim seconded at 6:30 pm. The motion was passed.

Respectfully submitted,

K. Landry Secretary
